our history

The Weeroona Bay Football and Sports Club (Weeroona Bay Tigers) was established in 1968 and joined the Whyalla Football League in 1970.


Through the years, we have competed in a number of premiership games and of those, won 4 in the years of 1985, 1987 and back to back in 1995 and 1996.

During 1996 the Leading Goal Kicker for the Whyalla Football League was awarded to WBFC player Greg Klaasens, with a total of 82 goals for the year as well as Cameron Edey in 2013 with 70 goals!

The seconds team about to play Westies on 23/08/1970


Over the years, the Whyalla News Medal has been awarded to Weeroona Bay Football Club members:

  • 2021 Steven Jackson
  • 2013 James Gruitt
  • 1999 Russell Sawford
  • 1998 Russel Sawford
  • 1996 Stephen Cowan
  • 1984 Geoff Stam
  • 1981 Geoff Stam

On August 14th 1967 Weeroona Bay Football Club was established with the meeting of four men at the home of Trevor Bower.

Trevor Bower, Stan Oates, Terry Beaty and Tom Gannon met at Trevor’s home and established Weeroona Bay’s first committee with Stan Oates as Chairperson and Marg McLean as secretary.

Weeroona Bay was originally formed as a junior club and won its first ever premiership in the Under 10’s competition in 1970, coached by John Lewis.

It was this year (1970) Weeroona Bay joined the Whyalla Football League Senior Competition.

In the early days there was nowhere to hold post-match celebrations, it was up to club members to volunteer their backyard sheds. When their gatherings became too big the McBryde Terrace Hall (now plants plus) became the meeting place.

Other temporary meeting “clubrooms” followed- Rifle Range, Dick Street Hall, Hotel Eyre and Trades Hall. Eventually finding a site on Flinders Avenue.

In 1979 after 10 years without a place to call “ours” Whyalla City Council owned building on Cartledge Avenue became the new home of the “TIGERS”.