Home Page Awards Contact Us Galleries History Latest News Milestones    

   Patron - Weeroona Bay Football & Sports Club Inc.

   B. "Tassie" Stevenson

Awards B&F  Shields Annual Dinner 2012 Annual Dinner 2013 Annual Dinner 2015 Annual Dinner 2016
Annual Dinner 2017 Annual Dinner 2018 Annual Dinner 2019 Galleries Guernsey Pres: 2016
Hall of Fame Honour Roll Jnr Presentation 2016 Jnr Presentation 2017 Jnr Presentation 2018 Jnr Presentation 2019
Presentation Night 2015 Pres:-Breakfast 2017 Snr Awards U14-U17-2019 Snr Awards A-B-2019  
Steve Bartel Music Trophy Night 2014      
League Premiership
Reserves Premiership Photos U17's Premiership
U14's Premiership
U12's Premiership
U10's Premiership

Club History

The Weeroona Bay Football and Sports Club (Weeroona Bay Tigers) was established in 1968 and joined the Whyalla Football League in 1970.

Through the years, Weeroona Bay Football Club (WBFC) have competed in a number of premiership games and of those, won 4 in the years of 1985, 1987 and back to back in 1995 and 1996. During 1996 the Leading Goal Kicker for the Whyalla Football League was awarded to WBFC player Greg Klaasens, with a total of 82 goals for the year as well as Cameron Edey in 2013 with 70 goals.

Over the years the Whyalla News Medal has been awarded to Weeroona Bay Football Club members:
2013 James Gruitt - 1999  Russell Sawford - 1998 Russel Sawford - 1996 Stephen Cowan - 1984 Geoff Stam - 1981 Geoff Stam 


Club Song:
We are the Mighty Tigers

We're the mighty roaring tigers
We're the mighty roaring tigers
We're the mighty roaring tigers
And we'll win the flag this year
Down at the Bay there's
a mighty football team
We're known as the tigers
and we'll always run supreme
We play to win and rarely lose
in every game we play
And we'll win the flag this year


On August 14th 1967 Weeroona Bay Football Club was established with the meeting of four men at the home of Trevor Bower.
Trevor Bower, Stan Oates, Terry Beaty and Tom Gannon met at Trevor's home and established Weeroona Bay's first committee with Stan Oates as Chairperson and Marg McLean as secretary.
Weeroona Bay was originally formed as a junior club and won its first ever premiership in the Under 10's competition in 1970, coached by John Lewis. It was this year (1970) Weeroona Bay joined the Whyalla Football League Senior Competition.
In the early days there was nowhere to hold post-match celebrations, it was up to club members to volunteer their backyard sheds. when their gatherings became too big the McBryde Terrace Hall (now plants plus) became the meeting place. Other temporary meeting "clubrooms" followed- Rifle Range, Dick Street Hall, Hotel Eyre and Trades Hall. Eventually finding a site on Flinders Avenue.
In 1979 after 10 years without a place to call "ours" Whyalla City Council owned building on Cartledge Avenue became the new home of the "TIGERS".

The seconds team about to play Westies on 23/08/1970.
Back: N.Chaplin, P.Grey, B.(Tassie) Stevenson, M.Wright, R.Sutton (Coach), R.Smith, N.Wood (Captain), G.Crawford, T.Stevenson.
Front: P.Roesler, J.Kerin, P.Berryman, B.Lodge, R.Golding (Trainer), G.Hamster, R.Langdon, P.Martin.
Absent: D.Spooner, J.Mathews, R.Groves, N.Marston.

  Click image to enlarge to original  


aaa aa
aWeeroona Bay Football & Sports Club Inc:   ABN  68 531 024 579   Email:  Club Secretary

Copyright 2015 - 2020 Weeroona Bay Football & Sports Club Inc.